These building corner street signs are fading fast

I love spotting these on random New York corners. But I’ve never seen one designed like the sign carved into a brick walkup at Hudson Street and St. Luke’s Place, with house numbers in the mix.

Crossstreetshudsonstlukes

East Harlem has lots of century-old tenements—and lots of corner carvings. Too bad “109th Street” was obliterated from this one at Third Avenue.

Crossstreets3rdavenue

A corner sign in Chelsea features stately lettering. It’s at Ninth Avenue and 19th Street and is in bad shape, but still doing its job of letting passersby know where they are—at least in part.

Crossstreets9thand19th

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “These building corner street signs are fading fast”

  1. S.S. Says:

    Good eyes!

    Thanks for providing these.

  2. Ryan Says:

    There are a bunch of these in the east 90’s as well, makes sense as the el’s used to run on 2nd and 3rd aves. 94th and 3rd has a great one that I thought may be obliterated soon as the building was being repainted but the current owners made sure it was touched up to look brand new.

  3. Newport Carl Says:

    I just love these. Keep up the good work.. These articles get forwarded all over the US

  4. wildnewyork Says:

    Thanks, I love them too! I’ll have to check out the one at 94th and 3rd. Yorkville is a great neighborhood for corner signs.

  5. Ellen Levitt Says:

    Have you seen any in Washington Heights? I think I have but I haven’t been around there since summertime.

  6. wildnewyork Says:

    I don’t think I have seen any in Washington Heights. I’m on the hunt!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,752 other followers

