A little bit of Sunshine in Queens

Queens—where residents once labored in factories producing (among other things) staplers, pencils, and . . . crackers. In 1914, the Loose-Willis Biscuit Company built a huge “thousand window” factory in Long Island City, where they cranked out millions of packages of Sunshine crackers. This ad comes from the back of the 1934 Boys High School yearbook:

The bakery shut down in 1965, and Keebler has since taken over the Sunshine crackers brand. But the old factory is still there; it’s that giant 10-story structure with IDCNY (International Design Center of New York) emblazoned on the roof, now used as a furniture design showroom.

Tags: , , ,

7 Responses to “A little bit of Sunshine in Queens”

  1. KELLIE HARDWICK Says:

    I have a Loose-Wiles Bisquit Company bisquit jar, very large, it says Sunshine Bisquits on one side and Loose -Wiles on the other side, This item has been researched and nothing has been found. I want to know how I can find the history on this original, possibly one of a kind bisquit jars and its worth can you help me?

    • Chad Says:

      I know you have posted over a year ago and hope this still finds you. I have no clue of any real value associated with the piece, but what I do know is there is a huge emotional value for me. My grandfather who recently passed away had a similar jar on the counter, until it recently broke. I am hoping that you may have a similar piece, and if so I would be wondering if you would want to part with it for a fair price. Pleas elt me know either way.

      Thanks

      • scentophile Says:

        I have a very large loose wiles clear biscuit jar. the lid has a few cracks around the edges. There is a peanut for the handle. The jar is in great shape except for a BB sized hole :( Let me know if you are interested in this piece.

      • Chad Says:

        Most certainly… Would you be able to send me a picture??? Nelsch06@luther.edu

  2. A Big Dig in Queens « The Newtown Pentacle Says:

    [...] the late 1970’s. The shells of the titanic companies like Adams (Beeman) Chewing Gum, and Sunshine Biscuits line the streets surrounding the yard, but modernity has largely cut their links to it. These [...]

  3. Headed for the grave… or Astoria to Calvary 3 « The Newtown Pentacle Says:

    [...] before the late 1970’s. The shells of the titanic companies like Adams (Beeman) Chewing Gum, and Sunshine Biscuits line the streets surrounding the yard, but modernity has largely cut their links to [...]

  4. Chad Says:

    Most certainly… Would you be able to send me a picture??? Nelsch06@luther.edu

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,419 other followers

