Times Square all lit up in Technicolor

This vintage postcard captures a rain-slicked Times Square bursting with color and light at night. It must be 1951; Ten Tall Men and Across the Wide Missouri were both released that year. 

timessquareatnightThe Automat is on the left. Who knew that its heyday as the place to go for machine-dispensed food and drink anytime of the day or night would soon be drawing to a close?

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “Times Square all lit up in Technicolor”

  1. CelestialCharms Says:

    Oh, yes, the automat. What a great and strange place to have a bite to eat. I used to go there with my Mother when I was a little one. I half expected a hand to appear from behind the “glass boxes” to serve me my food. Such an unusual setting for a child only accustomed to Chock Full o Nuts and Woolthworths food counter!

  2. wildnewyork Says:

    I sure remember Chock Full o Nuts and the Woolworths counter–those red and silver stools.

  3. blackbohemian Says:

    Man, I remember Chock Full O Nuts when I was a kid. I was devastated when all the Woolworth stores closed down. I love this postcard in all its rich color.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,421 other followers

