This glittery postcard, mailed with a one-cent stamp in 1906, celebrates the loop at the City Hall subway station, the first station ever built.
Opened in 1904, it was the southern terminal of the IRT East Side line and featured stunning tiled arches, skylights, and brass chandeliers.
Because the station couldn’t be expanded to fit the longer trains needed to accommodate more passengers, it was closed in 1945. Closed but not totally abandoned. The Transit Museum occasionally gives tours, and the 6 train still uses the loop to reverse direction and go northward.