Store signs that point the way

An arrow directing passersby to exactly where to enter a store or business is always a nice touch on a sign, especially if it’s got colorful light bulbs illuminating the way.

The C.O. Bigelow sign, on Sixth Avenue in the Village, is a perfect example:

cobigelowsign

Hot sandwich. Cold beer. Enter here. This one is on First Avenue in the 100s:

hotsandwicharrowsign

Would the patrons of this Harlem bathhouse not know where to go without the arrow pointing the way? And is a men-only bathhouse legal?

turkishbathsarrowsign

Tags: , , , , , , ,

8 Responses to “Store signs that point the way”

  1. joy Says:

    Oh, noes. I took a pic of an arrow sign myself, but this one’s likely to cause agita. I’m sorry. Also…”your NYC experience starts here”??? WTH?

  2. wildnewyork Says:

    Weird! I bet that Applebee’s does pretty well actually. Same with the Red Lobster, Olive Garden, and Ruby Tuesday’s.

  3. petey Says:

    old ads used also to have pointing hands alot, to a phone number for example.
    http://graphicsfairy.blogspot.com/2008/09/free-victorian-graphic-pointing-hand.html

  4. mykola (mick) dementiuk Says:

    I remember Bigelow’s from years ago, 1960s? I bought some bobbie pins for my mother that had cushioned ends which she was able to use, the usual pins weren’t cushioned well enough. Her doctor recommended them. They were about a dollar for a pack of 50 or so. I think the normal one’s were 40-50 cents. Bigelow’s was the only one that had them, or so he claimed.

  5. Zoe Says:

    Can you tell me what street (in Harlem) you captured the bath sign? I am doing some research on New York City baths and don’t recall this one.

  6. wildnewyork Says:

    I don’t remember the exact street, unfortunately. But I can narrow it down to between 119th St and 125th on the East Side, around Lexington or Park Avenue. Hope that helps.

  7. Zoe Says:

    Thanks for your response.

    I am guessing this bath is closed–as most are–in NYC. In the early days of baths, they were all segregated by sex.

  8. wildnewyork Says:

    I don’t remember if it was open or closed–I’d take a look in the area if you can. They had several signs up, if I remember correctly. Definitely couldn’t miss it.

Leave a Reply

