This photo, of what looks like a pretty ordinary day in 1875, captures the corner of Fifth Avenue and 42nd Street. Hey, what happened to the main branch of the New York Public Library?
Before that Beaux-Arts gem was built, the city’s first distributing reservoir took up the site. This reservoir held New York City’s first fresh, clean supply of water, which originated in Westchester’s Croton River.
The reservoir, built in 1842, is pretty impressive. Walls 50 feet high and 25 feet thick were topped by a promenade; it could hold 20,000,000 gallons.
Once the Croton River became a dam, the city didn’t need a reservoir on 42nd Street anymore. It was demolished in 1899 to make way for the iconic library building that greets New Yorkers today.
Tags: beaux-arts buildings, Croton Aqueduct, croton dam, Croton reservoir, croton river, Fifth Avenue and 42nd Street, Murray Hill distributing reservoir, Murray Hill reservoir, New York Public Library main branch