The go-go bar of The Odd Couple’s closing credits

Remember the opening and closing credits of The Odd Couple? Those scenes serve as a tour of gritty 1970s New York.


Felix, just kicked out of the house by his wife, rests his bags on the sidewalk in front of a blue city bus. Oscar walks into wet cement after watching a girl in a miniskirt cross the street.

And at one point, Oscar looks in the window of topless go-go bar, only to be shooed away by a cop.


Could that topless bar in 1970 be this Toasties sandwich shop on 49th Street between Sixth and Seventh Avenues today?

It sure looks like it. In fact, there still is an Indian restaurant on the second floor, one that bills itself as the oldest Indian restaurant in New York City. Here’s a look at those entire closing credits.

[Hat tip to Dean at the History Author Show, which should definitely do an Odd Couple tour of New York City in an upcoming podcast.]

Tags: , , , , , ,

12 Responses to “The go-go bar of The Odd Couple’s closing credits”

  1. greg chown Says:

    My first visit to new York was in 1970. I was ten years old and it was a bit of a culture shock to me, a kid from the suburbs of toronto.Take a look at Midnight Cowboy to get an idea. For the past 15 years my Wife and I visit at least once a year and I must admit that I do miss the the old “seedy” New York.It had a deparved charm.

  2. Kenny Says:

    Rob Jett claimed to be the Boy Scout who helped the old lady cross the street in those opening credits where both he and the old lady punch Felix Unger / Tony Randall out of sheer cruelty. I met Rob while we were in college in the late 70s.
    He said the producers asked him if he had a scout uniform, he said yes, they said be at this street corner wearing it the next morning. Next stop: classic sitcom immortality.

  3. David Jarrett Says:

    That Indian restaurant on West 49th Street was called Indian & Ceylon Restaurant in 1963, when I had my first Indian dinner. At that time, I was told that there were only two (2) Indian restaurants in New York.

    David Jarrett in New York City


  4. Fred Ost Says:

    I am 99% sure that the old topless bar was on 7 Ave. between W. 48 and 49 Sts., closer to W. 49 St. I recall seeing it back in the 1960s and 1970s. I think it’s at the location of the former Hawaiian Tropic Zone restaurant. It was definitely on the east side of the street.

  5. gordon skaluba Says:

    Ah yes! The Pigeon Sisters!

  6. Fred Ost Says:

    The Metropole! The Metropole Cafe; that’s what it was. On 7th Ave. around between 48 and 49 St. I don’t recall the Meetropole Cafe but I do recall when the Metropole was a topless place in the 1960s and maybe thru the 1970s. Here’s the wiki link:

  7. Fred Ost Says:

    At the 38-second mark one can see “Metropole Cafe” in the background. Now what I have always wanted to know is where they live. The address is 1049 (see 28-second mark). I assume it’s on an avenue (north-south street) and I’m guessing it’s on the east side. Does anyone know where THAT building is?

  8. ephemeralnewyork Says:

    Yep, 1049 Park Avenue! Felix and Oscar shared classy digs.

  9. Fred Ost Says:

    Oh, thank you! And I found out that 1049 Park Ave. is around E. 87 St. Next time I’m in NYC I will try to get there to see the building.

  10. Steve Williams Says:

    It is definitely that block of 49th Street. Back in the 70’s my dad worked in the (new) McGraw Hill building on 6th and 49th. I remember visiting him there and recognizing that bar (with the window in the “o” in “topless”) as we walked from his office toward Times Square.

  11. Rich Says:

    I used to walk past The 49er on 49th st for years in the 1970s. Next to the freight entrance of united artists building and a seedy hotel. Higjh class Cigar store on the corner of 7th ave. There was another famous Irish bar on that street, i forget the name. I worked right next door to the metrople cafe, 723 7th ave. the older man say no cover charge, no minimum to come..

  12. Rich downey Says:

    Mark rothman and lowell ganz who later wrote eposides were my neighbors in queens ny

Leave a Reply

