Posts Tagged ‘old maps’

The six towns of Brooklyn

April 23, 2008

It’s neat to think that Brooklyn was originally made up of six separate towns, five of them Dutch, which then united into the city of Brooklyn and eventually morphed into Kings County as we know it. This map, date unknown, also includes the names of small villages within those early towns—like New Lots, Bedford, and Williamsburgh. 

The map notes Bergen and Mill Islands, site of present-day Bergen Beach and Mill Basin. And Coney Island is two actual islands here.