Random signage

From Broome Street and Thompson Street. I’ll take a guess that the WA in the telephone exchange stands for Washington Square. Or maybe Watts Street?

 

 

6 Responses to “Random signage”

  1. sean Says:

    WA- stands for Wanamaker, likely after the Wanamaker Building, a famous department store, still standing on Bdwy, 4th Ave, 8th Street, and Wanamaker Place.

  2. carol Says:

    WA stood for Waverly. Same as “The Waverly” movie theater on 6th Ave near w. 4th Street. I don’t know the origin…

  3. Sean Says:

    I may want to correct WA, I am not sure if it is WAnamaker, now that I think about it.
    It likely is WAverly. Waverly Place is just one block north of that theater.

    Thanks Carol

  4. Bruce R. Gilson Says:

    You’re all wrong. WA 5 was WAlker 5. I had that exchange myself when I lived on Allen St. in 1950 as a kid.

  5. John De Lorenzo & Bro., Inc. - Iron & Sheet Metal Contractor - Soho, NYC « Fading Ad Blog by Frank H. Jump Says:

    […] WA-lker 5 telephone exchange (see Ephemeral NY comments). […]

  6. Fred the Fop Says:

    So how come a brick oven pizza hasn’t opened up in the spot yet?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.