Summer on the Lower East Side

Photojournalist Arthur Fellig, aka Weegee, is best known for his raw crime-scene photos.

But he also captured some tender moments of street life in New York City—such as this photo of a ragtag group of kids cooling off under the spray of a fire hydrant in 1937.

It must have been hot that day . . . so hot, some of these kids didn’t even bother taking their clothes off to cool down.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Summer on the Lower East Side”

  1. Summer on the Lower East Side | New York Blogs Says:

    […] http://upcoming.current.com/nyblogs?format=rss […]

  2. High Speed Bus Plan Announced, Baby Faced Beer Probe, “Lush Life” as Art Says:

    […] Summer on the Lower East Side, 1937 (Ephemeral New York). […]

  3. Landscape Forms Says:

    That’s a great picture. I remember playing in the water from fire hydrants when I was very young but you don’t see that happen anymore.

  4. dearrosie Says:

    I recently met a woman who was one of those kids. But I’m sorry to say, I don’t know which one …. I wrote about her, and the photo, in my blog

    Museum Musings: we’re wearing hats this year


    because she was hoping to find a book with a copy of the photo, and one of my readers led me to your site and this photo.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.