Taking a trip back in time at this Wall Street subway station

Entering the Wall Street IRT subway station on Lower Broadway at Trinity Church can feel like going into a time warp.

That’s because of the cast iron hoods that cover the stairwell as you descend underground. Decorated in a leaf pattern, the curved hoods date back to the station’s 1905 opening.

The hoods mesh well with the elegant lamp posts and green bulbs on top. I’ve never seen anything like it at any other station, but this National Register of Historic Places document tells me the Borough Hall stop in Brooklyn also has a cast-iron hood.

The wayback machine continues once you get to the platform. On the southbound side, there’s an original wood ticket booth—empty and dark, but quite stunning. The elegant lights, curlycue ironwork, and the slight curve of the booth give it a very Art Nouveau kind of feel.

The photo is an old one from 2010—a subway ride no longer costs $2.25. (Think of it as part of the time traveling effect).

Is the vintage wood ticket chopper still beside the turnstiles? I forgot to look for it, but I hope it’s still part of the station architecture.

What’s the purpose of the ticket chopper? Before subway tokens were introduced in 1953, riders paid the fare via coins. The worker in the subway booth would hand them a paper ticket, and the rider gave the ticket to another employee at the chopper box, which would shred the ticket, according to the New York Transit Museum.

The Wall Street station also features decorative tile work and other artistic embellishments. Riding the subway these days can be a little dicey, but if you find yourself waiting for the 4 or 5 train here, think of your time underground as a chance to step into a time machine to the subway of the early 1900s.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

21 Responses to “Taking a trip back in time at this Wall Street subway station”

  1. ForceTubeAvenue Says:

    I recall that it cost about $100,000 to restore the wooden booth at the Wall Street Station. The similar entrances are located on the north side of Joralemon Street, behind the Brooklyn Borough Hall, just east of Court Street, above the Manhattan bound Borough Hall platform.

    • ephemeralnewyork Says:

      Thanks ForceTube; $100K doesn’t sound like much considering the overall budget of NYC Transit.

    • velovixen Says:

      The booth is reminiscent of a time when it was fashionable to ride the subway. I guess it had to do with the subway being “high lech,” like today’s Teslas.

      It is beautiful. If it doesn’t remain in the station, I hope it’s preserved in the Transit Museum or the Museum of the City of New York.

  2. beth Says:

    that booth is beautiful

  3. creddick007 Says:

    Don’t forget this one up by the Cloisters 

    <

    div dir=”ltr”>

    <

    blockquote type=”cite”>

  4. Jennifer Says:

    Nice post, thank you. I am really struck by the reminder here that pre-1953 there were jobs for 2 humans per station, now replaced by machines.

    • ephemeralnewyork Says:

      That’s a great observation. I remember when most stations had a person sitting in a fortified booth dispensing tokens for cash. Dangerous job.

  5. Debora Meltz Says:

    Why is riding the subway “dicey” these days?

    • ephemeralnewyork Says:

      Subway crime is up, and many unsavory characters with no other options ride the trains day and night. They aren’t necessarily criminals, but they sometimes give the trains a menacing feel.

  6. Jeff Derecki Says:

    Remember the woven straw seats in the cars? And the ceiling fans that could give you a haircut if you were a tall person.

    • ephemeralnewyork Says:

      I can’t say I remember them but I have seen them in the Transit Museum—a gem of a place.

      • VirginiaLB Says:

        I remember those straw seats. There were still some around when I was a child in the early 1950s. I called them the ‘corn on the cob’ seats’ because that’s what they looked like to me. I always hoped we would get a car with those seats when my father took me to his office on Saturday mornings.

      • fmlondon Says:

        I remember them in the 1960s, along with chandeliers on the LIRR.

  7. Kevin Golden Says:

    What is this ‘IRT’ you speak of?? Ha! I love that you still refer to it that way. The young’uns must be confused though!
    Thanks for all you do.

    • ephemeralnewyork Says:

      Ha, I barely can keep the IRT and IRS and BMT straight! I have to always consult the archive to make sure I get them right.

  8. fmlondon Says:

    Yes I do! I even remember the fans on the Long Island Railroad.

  9. Nicole Says:

    There are a couple more unused, painted wooden booths along the Queens Blvd line. Hidden by paint, but there if you know what you’re looking at

  10. Kathy Carter Says:

    Love it. Took this station many years

    Kathy Carter Dobrish Michaels Gross LLP Carter@dmglawny.com 212-418-5303

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.