“Huge punk selection” at Trash and Vaudeville

Skinny ties, black jeans, beatle boots, and other punk/new wave must-haves were up for grabs at Trash and Vaudeville, which has occupied the same St. Mark’s Place address since 1975.

An Ephemeral reader clipped this cool vintage ad out of a March 1980 issue of Trouser Press, a New York-based music magazine. Check out back issues from the 1970s and 1980s.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

9 Responses to ““Huge punk selection” at Trash and Vaudeville”

  1. Thomas Jefferson Says:

    That was the place to be in the late 70’s early 80’s. Many a piece of clothing was bought there by me. I got my treasured Beetle Boots and leahters there.

  2. Nabe News: May 20 - Bowery Boogie | A Lower East Side Chronicle Says:

    […] vintage print advertisement for Trash & Vaudeville in the March 1980 issue of Trouser Press [Ephemeral […]

  3. Alex Says:

    That was such a great store back then, with a punk/rockabilly style a la Stray Cats. I purchased several clothes from T&V back then, I remember my favorite, black peg legged jeans with a size 30 waist. NO way I’m ever gonna fit into that again. But I still have a couple of cool retro shirts I wear sometimes.

  4. Thomas Jefferson Says:

    “around the corner” at antique boutique, I would stop in there and get these great old bowling shirts amazingly cheap. It was way before the “hipsters” took over the look. Ahh, the old days.

  5. wildnewyork Says:

    Antique Boutique I remember well. They sold those long overcoats and vintage Levis into the 90s.

  6. Theresa Says:

    The store’s longtime manager in those days was a Brit named Scott McFee, who was one of the sweetest men who ever walked the planet.

  7. rick mcginnis Says:

    I remember this very ad from several issues of New York Rocker I hoarded up in the arctic fastness of Toronto back in those days. Finally got to T&V in the mid-80s, by which point all that great retro punk style was well out of fashion, and they’d moved on. Where’s that time machine when you need one…

  8. Catrina_woman (@sccvespa) Says:

    God, T and V, Antique Boutique, Canal St Jeans and Alices’ Underground. I think most of my late 70s early 80s clothes came from those stores along with the flea Markets on Canal st.

  9. Punks: An Origin Story | Solely By Virtue Says:

    […] Ephemeral New York;“Huge Punk Selection at Trash & Vaudeville,” WordPress; https://ephemeralnewyork.wordpress.com/2010/05/20/huge-punk-selection-at-trash-and-vaudeville/; published 2010; accessed December 3, […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.