A look at New York University’s class of 1932

Born around 1910, these seniors were little kids during World War I, teenagers in the booming but dry 1920s, and then had the misfortune to earn their degrees during the worst economic climate in the history of the nation (hmm, sound familiar?).

A look through their yearbook, The Album, reveals that they were mostly from the New York area (NYU was a commuter school back then) and of Jewish, Italian, and Irish backgrounds.

Their commencement address, delivered at the Bronx campus (NYU’s main campus at the time) also strikes a familiar note. School chancellor Ellsworth Brown, cautioned students about “bow[ing] down in the worship of the dollar”:

“Our economic safeguard . . . is to be found in new standards of life, in a regenerated scale of values and in the spiritual aspirations of mankind,” the chancellor told them.

A few could still be alive today. I hope they had good lives.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “A look at New York University’s class of 1932”

  1. Sallan Foundation Says:

    My Dad, Milton Stuchiner, was an NYU, Washington Square College grad of 1932. Just found his school “key” — in the shape of the Washington Square arch!
    Is the entire graduating class on line somewhere?

  2. wildnewyork Says:

    The yearbook is not online as far as I know; I have a copy. I’ll look for your dad’s name tonight!

  3. Sallan Foundation Says:

    Thanks wildnewyork!

  4. Matt Says:

    Hi—I realize this post is now over 10 years old, but do you still have access to that NYU yearbook? I’m trying to find more info. about my grandfather, Alfred C. Scaccia, who began attending NYU in 1928 and *should* have graduated in the class of 1932. Thanks for any help you can give!

    • ephemeralnewyork Says:

      Hi Matt, I wish I could help you learn more about your grandfather, but unfortunately I don’t have access to this yearbook anymore.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.