The writing on the wall (and the fence post)

It’s a nice treat to randomly come across an old tenement building with the names of the intersecting streets spelled out on the structure itself. Like this one here at Tenth Avenue and 17th Street:

tenthandwest17thst

It’s even cooler to see a street name carved into an iron fence post, as it is here at St. Mark’s Church on Second Avenue and 10th Street. A little St. Mark’s history and additional images can be found here.

stmarksfencepost

 

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “The writing on the wall (and the fence post)”

  1. Benjamin Feldman Says:

    I looked on my absolute favorite of this genre just the other night, a few-storied building (in bricks, but a skyscraper in inchoate tall tales): at the northwest corner of Warren Street, either at West Broadway or Church (I believe the former) stands an old building with “College Place” inlaid at the second story quoin, a palimpsest of when Columbia College stood nearby….

  2. wildnewyork Says:

    College Place, that’s amazing. I’d never seen it before but would love to check it out. What a neat relic! Thanks for writing about it.

  3. Doug D Says:

    do you know of a name for this type of street signage? I prefer to call them building corner street signs and I believe that’s Second Av and 11th street.
    I have a flickr set too, most are in NYC. http://www.flickr.com/photos/24081430@N06/sets/72157605491398120/
    hope you find it interesting.

  4. wildnewyork Says:

    Your flickr photos are very cool! I don’t know if there’s a name for these street signs, but I love coming across them.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.